University Royal Naval Unit

There are 14 University Royal Naval Units (URNUs) located around the country offering opportunities to 700 undergraduates from the country’s leading universities in England, Scotland and Wales.

The aim of the URNU is to broaden Naval understanding and develop undergraduates who show potential to become the leaders of tomorrow, through maritime experience and exposure to the values and ethos of the Royal Navy.

Each URNU is commanded by a RN Lieutenant who is responsible for 51 undergraduates during their time in the Unit. It is not a recruiting organisation and membership of the URNU carries no obligation to join the Royal Navy on graduation.

URNU members are taken to sea at weekends and during their vacation periods. In addition they have opportunities to take part in sporting events, adventurous training activities and gain a CMI qualification all within a vibrant and friendly social scene.

The North West of England is home to Liverpool University Royal Naval Unit (LURNU) based at Headquarters Naval Regional Command Northern England on Sefton Street, and Manchester & Salford Universities Royal Naval Unit (M&SURNU) based at University Barracks on Boundary Lane.

Reserve Forces